2.2 Writing Rules

I have stated several times, I was never the best High School English student. When my teacher’s would give out instructions I probably was either not there, on my phone, or asleep. I live by my own drummer, and my drummer is loud. However, I remember a few rules that I had always seemed to break.

Have your thesis in the introduction and conclusion.

I agree with this rule, it helps when readers are trying to figure out your main idea’s.

Always start with a grabber.

This did not make sense to me, because the grabbers I would want to use were always “wrong”.

No vulgar Language

Fuck that, is my go to sentence of my whole life. Why should my writing be constricted to only “Common” or “Polite words” if fuck or shit are the best words for the sentence I would put it in my writing and just take a detention.

Never use you or I.

This rule is stupid, because when you are writing it comes out. See I just used it without realizing it. Writing flows for me and if I am trying to write something and can not use words my breaks go off and my momentum begins to fall.

5 Paragraph Essay

This is the most frustrating rule I ever had to follow. If I like what I am writing it will flow out of me and it will keep going till I feel like it should stop and sometimes the stupid 5 paragraphs is not enough.

The rules I find too rigid are listed above, I never go into an essay with a plan. Ever. So I would only concentrate on the rules I would know I would break. The other rules are honestly second nature, I will do them but would not think about them.

I have never found a rule that I was like, “Oh boy I can not wait to write a paper without using an exclamation point!”

And in high school I wish I could of written essays without them being 5 paragraphs. They could of been more creative, longer, more flow and all around better papers.

I honestly do not change my writing all too often when switching platforms. However, on the writing journals I am more relaxed, using I more using you more when I would never do that in a well researched essay.

One thought on “2.2 Writing Rules

  1. While I share some of your rebelliousness, the problem is that your thoughts/reflection always come back to this incredibly self-centered point-of-view.

    For instance:

    “I have never found a rule that I was like, “Oh boy I can not wait to write a paper without using an exclamation point!””

    While I can understand that YOU might not want to do this…it’s not really all about YOU, is it? It’s about the reader. Same here:

    “Fuck that, is my go to sentence of my whole life. Why should my writing be constricted to only “Common” or “Polite words” if fuck or shit are the best words for the sentence I would put it in my writing and just take a detention.”

    Okay, so “fuck that” might perfectly encapsulate your opinion toward something. But is your end goal always just to express your opinion? If so, you’re never going to change minds. You’ll always just wind up in detention, your opinion expressed through the language that YOU feel is appropriate, but because you don’t care about the reader/listener/audience, they will just sort of shrug and say, “That guy has nothing important to say. That guy is irrelevant to me.”

    -NH

    Like

Leave a Reply

